NRLW 2022: Brisbane Broncos preview, Ali Brigginshaw’s warning for rivals

The Brisbane Broncos have won all three NRLW titles since the competition started in 2018 and the club’s best player has warned rivals they will be even better in 2022.

Brisbane has reigned supreme over the women’s competition since its introduction in 2018, winning all three titles and claiming all three minor premierships.

Their star-studded squad includes the likes of Brigginshaw, Millie Boyle, Tamika Upton and Tarryn Aiken, who have been able to tear apart opposition defences with ease.

Stream every game of every round of the 2022 NRL Telstra Premiership Season Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-days free now.

Despite their supremacy, Brigginshaw believed the group still had room for improvement and a longer season will see them reach their full potential just in time for the grand final.

“We’ve played well but we can always be better,” Brigginshaw said.

“After our fourth game, we always get to the point where we think ‘gee we can play better than that’. That’s one thing we’re going to see is that teams are going to get better and better the more games they play.

“We might be able to reach our full potential by the final game.”

In 2022, the Broncos will be shooting for an incredible four-in-a-row to continue their Brisbane dynasty and they have been able to retain a majority of their premiership-winning squad despite the expansion of the competition.

Coach Kelvin Wright pulled off a masterstroke in the 2020 season by shifting Brigginshaw to a playmaking lock to add another dimension to their attack and it’s a tactic worth persisting with in the upcoming season.

SQUAD: Ali Brigginshaw, Millie Boyle, Tamika Upton, Tarryn Aiken, Amber Hall, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Julia Robinson, Tallisha Harden, Lauren Brown, Shenae Ciesiolka, Lavinia Gould, Amy Turner, Sara Sautia, Toni Hunt, Lesa Kaleti Mataafa, Hayley Maddick, Emily Bass, Jada Ferguson, Nakita Sao and Kaitlyn Phillips. Coach: Kelvin Wright.

HOME GROUND: Suncorp Stadium.

X-FACTORS: Ali Brigginshaw, Tamika Upton, Tarryn Aiken.

ONES TO WATCH: Hayley Maddick, Jada Ferguson.

Originally published as NRLW 2022: Brisbane Broncos preview, Ali Brigginshaw’s warning for rivals

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.