Meet the Design Indaba’s Emerging Creatives Class of 2022

One of the country’s most prestigious creative developmental platforms, Design Indaba’s Emerging Creatives Class, has been cultivating fresh local talent for over 17 years.

Having successfully launched the careers of the likes of Mpho Vackier, Russell Abrahams, Daniel Ting Chong, Crystal Birch, and more, this year’s crop of Emerging Creatives has been carefully selected by Lukhanyo Mdingi (who recently won the prestigious LVHM Prize) and fashion and textile designer Ditiro Mashigo. Both former Emerging Creatives themselves, the designers were impressed by the high quality of the submissions this year.

The Emerging Creative Class of 2022 includes 40 gifted designers selected from over 380 entrants across the country.

“I’m incredibly inspired to see the brewing and exceptional talent of the Emerging Creatives,” says Mdingi. “Year after year, Design Indaba has provided a platform for aspiring designers at large to showcase their work and what they have to offer the industry. They are to be commended for this.”

In her selection process, Mashigo says she was searching for “innovation in design-led problem-solving and an honest point of view from South African emerging design talents on issues such as climate change, socio-economics and equality.”

Over the past 18 months of the Covid-19 pandemic, creatives and entrepreneurs alike have learned that problem-solving and creative thinking is no longer just a luxury but a in fact a critical survival skill. The contenders of the Emerging Creatives Class of 2022 seek to do just that through their respective mediums and talents.

See below for the full list of Design Indaba’s Emerging Creatives Class of 2022:

  • Luke Rudman
  • Charity Vilakazi
  • Julia Duduzile Mohanoe
  • Kutlwano Monyai
  • Mona-lisa Mthethwa
  • Nandipha Yanta
  • Nuraan Khan
  • Lumka Jordaan
  • Naomi Zwane
  • Amy-Leigh Braaf
  • Daniella Kilpatrick
  • Katlego Magano
  • Lundi Mlonyeni
  • Mbangiso Mabaso
  • Mishaal Gangaram
  • Moeko Karabelo Selebalo
  • Mohau Moholane
  • Njabulo Maseko
  • Riyaadh Ismail
  • Samkelo Boyde Xaba
  • Siyabonga Mtshali
  • Sizani Baloyi
  • Thulani Kubeka
  • Fernando
  • Kyle Kemink
  • Fikile Sokhulu
  • Drew Kendall Haller
  • Nkululeko Mthembu
  • Tsepiso Lekganyane
  • Noxolo Thando Masuku
  • Lindiwe Irene Rethebile Gugushe
  • Mikhailia Petersen
  • Thando Ntuli
  • Lehlogonolo Khaas
  • Lauren Gericke
  • Leila Walter
  • Akshar Maganbeharie
  • Arron Moos
  • Buhle Nkalashe

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.